24 Jul 2023

European Railway Award 2024: Call for nominations

Nominations for the 17th edition of the European Railway Award are now open.

Since 2007, the European Railway Award showcases rail’s impressive capabilities, and we are currently looking for the next winner of our Rail Trailblazer Award.

2023 was designated the ‘European Year of Skills’. This EU initiative aims to address skills gaps in the Union and boost the EU skills strategy, which will help reskill people with the focus on digital and green technology skills

Relying on a broad and highly skilled workforce, the rail sector is particularly aware of the challenges of attracting and training workers that are well-equipped for the digital and green transitions. From gaps in skills to an ageing workforce, there are numerous obstacles to overcome to ensure rail has access to the skilled labour it needs.

At the European Railway Award 2024, we want to recognise the impressive work being done to attract, train and retain new talent in the sector.

How is your organisation (company, institution,..) tackling today’s skills challenges? Have you spearheaded a successful recruitment or training programme that can pave the way towards a stronger rail workforce? What projects are delivering tangible results to future-proof rail’s skill profiles?

Let us know about your success stories by applying to become our 2024 Rail Trailblazer.


We are accepting the nomination of candidates responding to the following eligibility criteria:

  • Nominations can be for any individual, project or initiative that made a significant contribution to the promotion of skills in the European rail sector in any of the following areas: training, re- or up-skilling, educational outreach, bridging skills gaps, job quality, social responsibility, etc.
  • The candidate must be based in Europe
  • Nominations must be for a relevant achievement with proven results demonstrating innovative thought leadership, inspiring activism or pioneering strategies and techniques that support skill development and bring real added value for the rail sector
  • Nominations must include a clear description of the achievement that the candidate is being nominated for and be accompanied by a proper set of supporting documents (e.g. resume, articles, photos, presentations, videos, etc.)

Nominations should be submitted by 30 September 2023.
Eligible candidates will be shortlisted and submitted to our external jury composed of rail sector CEOs, high-level decision makers from European and international institutions, former winners and selected journalists, who will vote to determine the laureate.

Nominate here

Now is definitely the time to recognise and encourage trailblazing efforts that are changing the employment landscape in rail professions for good.

We look forward to discovering your nominations!

For more information please contact:

Tanvi Mishra


Share This